Joining a Greater Sioux Falls Chamber of Commerce committee allows you to become more deeply immersed in the activities of the Chamber and business community. The professional and personal return on your investment is invaluable. Time commitments vary and service on some committees is by application and/or appointment only. Call (605) 336-1620 or email the staff contact to find out more information.

Committee Chair: Derek Little, First Dakota National Bank

Purpose: To advance and promote the Sioux Empire as an agricultural center.
Activities: Ag Appreciation Day and the Sioux Empire Livestock Show.

Staff Coordinator: Brooke Hendrickx

Committee Chair: Lucas Fiegen, Fiegen Construction Co.

Purpose: To provide a stable source of income via dues by securing new Chamber members through combined efforts with the Membership Department.

Activities: Membership sales and ribbon cuttings/groundbreakings.

Staff Coordinator:

Committee Chair: Vernon Brown, South Dakota State University

Purpose: To enhance corporate responsibility in the Sioux Empire and to increase the number and percentage of businesses active in the Sioux Falls area community by subscribing to and becoming high-quality, corporate citizens.

Activities: Executive briefings and business tours and guest speakers.

Staff Coordinator: Pat Lund

The most casual of the Chamber’s committees, this group of volunteers play a crucial role in making Chamber events successful. It is a fun and flexible way to volunteer for short periods of time that fit your schedule.

Activities: Crew members assist with event registration and hosting, photography and other logistics at Chamber events.

Staff Coordinator: Teresa Schreier

Committee Chair: Brent Reilly, Loft Advisors

Purpose: To qualify and provide orderly scheduling of capital fund drives.

Activities: Research, interview and select capital fund drives.

Staff Coordinator: Mike Lynch

Committee Chair: James Payer II, The Empire Mall

Purpose: To maintain membership strength in the Greater Sioux Falls Chamber of Commerce.

Activities: Membership Mixers, Good Morning Sioux Falls, Morning Mingles, ribbon cuttings/groundbreakings, new member visits and membership retention.

Staff Coordinator: Pat Lund

Committee Chair: Paul Bruflat, retired

Purpose: To proactively identify and study issues that impact the Sioux Falls area business community and propose solutions and positions that preserve and enhance the business climate.

Activities: Sioux Falls Day at the Legislature, Good Morning Sioux Falls, Inside Washington, Candidate Forums, Legislative Coffees

Staff Coordinator: Mitch Rave

Committee Co-Chairs: BG (ret.) R.J. Clifft and BG (ret.) Ronald W. Mielke

Purpose: To advocate for the future of Joe Foss Field, the South Dakota Air National Guard and other military units in the Sioux Falls area

Activities: Advocating on behalf of military units in the Sioux Falls area and South Dakota

Staff Coordinator: Mike Lynch

Committee Chair: Erin Brown, SD Department of Veterans Affairs

Purpose: To coordinate, promote and monitor military, veteran and veterans support facilities activity within the Sioux Falls area.

Activities: Armed Forces Day program, Veterans Day program and guest speakers.

Staff coordinator: Mike Lynch

Committee Chair: Shawn Cleary, Tiger Corporation

Purpose: This independent group of dedicated volunteers organizes the annual “people’s parade” and related St. Patrick’s Day activities, with support from the Chamber. This event is held on the Saturday prior to St. Patrick’s Day in downtown Sioux Falls. This Committee is a great opportunity for those who want to focus on one activity for a shorter window of time.

Committee Chair: Alexis Mahlen, Lloyd Companies

Purpose: To cultivate an informed and involved young professional community in the Sioux Falls area in order to retain and attract young and diverse talent.

Activities: Create opportunities for personal development, civic involvement, networking with peers and interaction with community leaders.

Staff Coordinator: Casey Boerger